Posted in Music

Music I’ve been listening to recently

Thanks to some stellar performances at the C2C festival, I’ve been enjoying something of a country music revival over the past few weeks.

Tim McGraw’s latest studio album, Two Lanes of Freedom, is his first release since signing to country label de jour Big Machine Records. Perhaps seeing the songs performed live has unduly influenced me but I think it’s his best work in quite a while. Stand-out tracks: One of Those NightsFriend of a Friend, Mexicoma, Two Lanes of Freedom and bonus track Tinted Windows. The mister gives Truck Yeah a big thumbs up.

Tim McGraw @ BamaJam Music Festival
Tim McGraw @ BamaJam Music Festival (Photo credit: ConcertTour)

Four-piece group Little Big Town tore up the stage at C2C. I enjoyed their energy and Fleetwood Mac-esque harmonies so much that I grabbed a copy of Tornado for myself and another as a birthday present for a friend. Stand-out tracks: Sober, Your Side of the BedLeavin’ in Your Eyes and Can’t Go Back.

Country music ‘soap’ Nashville has swiftly become my Thursday night telly highlight. The big hair, the sequins, the drama! But the real star of the show is the music. Produced by T Bone Burnett and performed by members of the cast, including Connie Britton, Hayden Panettiere and the sublime Clare Bowen, the season 1 soundtrack is now available. Stand-out tracks: If I Didn’t Know Better, Love Like Mine, When the Right One Comes Along, Buried Under and Wrong Song. A special mention goes to the acoustic version of Telescope.

Bonus iTunes download track: Love or Money by Kristian Bush of Sugarland. This song will forever remind me of C2C.

Related post

Country to Country 2013: something for the cowboy in me 

Author:

Prone to magpie tendencies, I enjoy nothing more than musing – in pictures and in words – on a few of my favourite things.

what do you think?

