Posted in Film

My year in film: November – December 2012

see filename
Image via Wikipedia

Oh dear. The final round-up of 2012 is very sparse indeed.

4th November: Skyfall. Bond is back! And with an absolutely brilliant theme tune by British songstress Adele. Spy boss M’s past returns to haunt her in the shape of strangely coiffed baddie Silva, played by Javier Bardem (but thankfully not as scary as his turn in No Country For Old Men). Directed by Sam Mendes, Skyfall is probably the best film from Daniel Craig’s tenure as 007 that has been released to date. The ending took me completely by surprise.

25th November: Silver Linings Playbook. Pat (Bradley Cooper) loses everything after a mental breakdown but can he appreciate the silver linings of his life once he’s released from a state psychiatric institution into the care of his parents? This film got off to a slow start but really gained momentum once Pat hooked up with dance-obsessed widow Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence). The dance scenes were stupendous and the side plot following the fortunes of the Philadelphia Eagles football team provided a comedic foil for Pat’s dad (Robert De Niro). In the style of Strictly Come Dancing head judge, Len Goodman, I score Silver Linings Playbook “seven!”

27th November: Gambit. The mid-1960s heist movie of the same name is given a makeover by the Coen brothers. Art curator Harry Deane (Colin Firth) comes up with a hair-brained scheme to con his annoying boss (Alan Rickman) into buying a fake painting by Monet. Texan rodeo rider PJ Puznowski (Cameron Diaz) is his partner in crime. Gambit isn’t likely to win any Oscars to add to the Coen’s already weighty collection of awards but it did provide an entertaining – if somewhat daft – cinematic diversion. In the best traditions of farce, a man who constantly loses his trousers in public is always inherently amusing to a British audience.

And so my year in film comes to an end. What have I learnt from recording my trips to the cinema throughout 2012? Well, it pains me to admit it but I fell far short of my stated goal to see a new film every week or so.

My New Year’s resolution? I really must get to the cinema more often in 2013…

Related posts

My year in film: July – October 2012 

My year in film: May – June 2012

My year in film: March – April 2012

My year in film: January – February 2012

Author:

Prone to magpie tendencies, I enjoy nothing more than musing – in pictures and in words – on a few of my favourite things.

what do you think?

