Posted in Film

My year in film: May – June 2012

see filename
Image via Wikipedia

I’m beyond embarrassed by the paltry number of films seen over the past two months. Anyway, here goes…

8th May: The Lucky One. Adapted from the Nicholas Sparks novel of the same name, The Lucky One stars Zac Efron as an ex-Marine who travels to Louisiana to find the unknown woman from a photo he believes was his good luck charm while on active service. I kept expecting Zac to burst into a song and dance routine but I think he’s probably moved on since his High School Musical days. Shame! Still, this film was a non-challenging, gentle romance that made for good date night viewing.

29th May: Dark Shadows. The dream team reunited: Tim Burton plus Johnny Depp (with a bit of Helena Bonham-Carter thrown in for good measure). Dark Shadows sees a spurned witch turn Barnabas Collins (Depp) into a vampire and bury him alive. Two centuries later, Barnabas is inadvertently released from his tomb and emerges into a brave new world: the 1970s. Much confusion ensues as old wrongs are put right. Michelle Pfeiffer’s hair should have demanded separate billing for the awesome bouffant do.

3rd June: The Angels’ Share. Ken Loach’s latest, filmed in and around Glasgow, with a cast of largely unknown local actors. A comedic heist movie – the plot and characterisation had me rooting for the protagonists even though I knew I probably shouldn’t. We enjoyed The Angels’ Share so much that a couple of days later we visited one of the locations (see related post below).

10th June: Men in Black 3. Although I remember the original film, I vehemently deny all knowledge of Men in Black 2 despite my husband insisting we saw it together. This latest offering from the MIB franchise was better than I expected but I wouldn’t rush out to see it again.

Related posts

Tasting the angels’ share

My year in film: March – April 2012

My year in film: January – February 2012

Author:

Prone to magpie tendencies, I enjoy nothing more than musing – in pictures and in words – on a few of my favourite things.

what do you think?

