Posted in Musings

Taking stock

typewriter
typewriter (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Just about a year ago—and despite the cloud of doom hovering over the global economy—I threw caution to the wind and left my job as Chief Editor of a medical journal to embark upon a career break.

What exactly this break would entail in practical terms was rather vague. I told anyone who asked that I planned to use the time to write a novel. The bestseller that I would later be asked to turn into an Oscar-winning screenplay…

Twelve months on and the novel, screenplay and Oscar have yet to materialise. But I’ve started blogging, which seems a step in the right direction at least.

In fact, if I sit and reflect a while, I find a number of positives to take from my year of supposed idleness.

  • I’ve acquired a digital camera and enjoy pointing and snapping at anything that catches my eye.
  • I’ve discovered the joy of a weekday matinée at the theatre.
  • I’ve baked some really quite delicious cakes.
  • I’ve got back into the habit of visiting museums and galleries.
  • I’ve read some new books and reread some old books.
  • I’ve become a freelance editor.

The freelance work was an unexpected bonus, one that has provided the financial means to continue my career break for a while longer. So, what’s next?

Well, I would love to travel more extensively; try my hand at stand-up comedy; attend a film premiere; spend a week at a dude ranch; see the Northern Lights; have dinner at The Ivy; make a guest appearance on The Big Bang Theory; fly in a Spitfire; become the first female Dr Who; learn to cook French pâtisserie delicacies…

Or perhaps I should just call time on the delaying tactics and turn to the task of writing that long overdue novel.

Author:

Prone to magpie tendencies, I enjoy nothing more than musing – in pictures and in words – on a few of my favourite things.

what do you think?

