Posted in Musings

Afternoon tea at dolittles

Tea room

For as long as I can recall, I have dreamed of opening a tea room.

I would call my tea room ‘dolittles’ and the emphasis would be on afternoon tea with delicious homemade cakes and pastries. Tea would be served in mismatched vintage china in shades of eau de nil, duck egg and lavender; the cakes would be brought to the table on tiered stands and eaten using delicate silver cake forks. Starched white cloths and fresh flowers on each table would be de rigueur. The staff would dress in a uniform of black with white aprons carrying the dolittles monogram.

The decor would be very much in the style of the 1920s and 1930s. The walls of the tea room would be covered in luxe wallpaper in a muted colour scheme. One or more chandeliers would hang from the ceiling and mirrors would abound, bouncing light off the spotless silverwear. Nothing chintzy though. My vision is for cool, sophisticated elegance.

Cole Porter and Gershwin classics would play in the background. Perhaps I might even hire a pianist and my customers would be encouraged to waltz and foxtrot around the parquet floor. dolittles would definitely be the hot spot to take afternoon tea.

On no account whatsoever would anyone be able to get coffee to go in a hideous styrofoam cup. There are other establishments out there for people who want that kind of thing…

As I write about it, I feel that my tea room is beginning to come to life. Perhaps one day I’ll finally have the nerve to make dolittles a reality.

Author:

Prone to magpie tendencies, I enjoy nothing more than musing – in pictures and in words – on a few of my favourite things.

4 thoughts on “Afternoon tea at dolittles

  1. I can picture it with you and even though I am a true coffee addict I want to come to try some of those delicious cakes you have said elsewhere that you have made and I shall eat them with Earl Grey. Looking forward to you making it a reality as it sounds divine!

    Like

what do you think?

